Oops – Stop that Email

Google just implemented a hugely face-saving feature – undo.  That’s right!  You can take back an email that you sent by mistake, as long as you do it within 30 seconds.  This feature works when you are using the web interface for Gmail.  I’m not so sure it works if you are using Outlook, Apple Mail or some other mail client.

Here’s how to use it:

Click the little cog on the top right.  Select Settings. About half way down is the Undo option.  You can select 10, 20 or 30 seconds.  What this does is delay sending your email for that period of time.  After pressing send, at the top of the screen, the Undo option appears.  Click it and your email is not sent.  It is reopened for you to modify or delete.

This seems particularly useful when you realize after the fact that you just did a replay all when you meant to respond to one person, and who hasn’t done this.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s